Disability Categories & Supports

Disability Categories & Supports

All Ohio school districts are required to provide a free appropriate public education (FAPE) for children with disabilities in accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Improvement Education Act.
 OCALI's Assistive Technology & Accessible Educational Materials Center (AT & AEM) is a centralized, responsive resource center that empowers individuals with disabilities by providing accessible eductional materials, access to assistive technologies and highly specialized technical assistance, and professional development support. 
There are THIRTEEN categories of eligibility:
  1. Autism

  1. Deaf-Blindness

  1. Deafness

  1. Emotional Disturbance

  1. Hearing Impairment

  1. Intellectual Disability

  1. Multiple Disability

  1. Orthopedic Impairment

  1. Other Health Impairment

  1.  Specific Learning Disability

  1. Speech or Language Impairment

  1. Traumatic Brain Injury

  1. Visual Impairment including Blindness