Walter Horn Awards

Walter Horn Awards 2021 - We're Going Virtual!!

We are going VIRTUAL for Walter Horn in 2021! 

Please stay tuned for updates about this year's outstanding students and educator recipients coming soon! Once we have all of the new awardees for 2021, we will post them for you. 

In the meantime, Let's take a walk down memory lane and enjoy

 Walter Horn 2017, 2018, and 2019!


The History of the Walter Horn Awards

Raymond A. Horn
Outstanding Achievement Award

Named in honor of the late Dr. Raymond A. Horn, Assistant Superintendent of Public Instruction Emeritus, this prestigious award recognizes students’ remarkable performance. Acknowledged as a national leader in the field of special education, Dr. Horn devoted more than 60 years of service to improving the quality of life and learning for students with disabilities. Dr. Horn left behind a legacy and a challenge to all to ensure that every student with a disability be given the respect and the opportunities to which they are entitled.

Franklin B. Walter
Outstanding Educator Award

Named in honor of the late Dr. Franklin B. Walter, Superintendent of Public Instruction from 1977 until 1991, a post held longer than any other state superintendent in Ohio’s history. With over 50 years of service as a teacher and administrator, Dr. Walter’s leadership is evident in many of Ohio’s quality educational initiatives and programs. Among these is the development of the nation’s first statewide plan for children with disabilities.

Thank you to our Sponsors

 Walter Horn Awards wouldn't be possible without the support of local businesses.
We offer a heartfelt Thank You to the following Sponsors:
  • Auburn Career Center Culinary Students/Staff
  • Auburn Career Center Plant Turf & Landscape Management Students/Staff
  • MPS Financial, Inc. 
  • Moose Lodge #490
  • VFW Post 2595 
  • Jennifer Felker, GCESC/LCESC
  • Chick-Fil-A - Mentor & Willoughby
  • Bluestone Perennials
  • Target - Mentor
  • YMCA - Geauga 

SST4 Staff LOVE Walter Horn Day!